More Clamming News

4 Feb 2020 9:17 AM | Anonymous

NEWS RELEASE   Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife 

WDFW announces tentative razor clam digs through April

Abundance of clams means more digging opportunities this spring

OLYMPIA - State shellfish managers have tentatively scheduled razor clam digs on ocean beaches for dates through April.    “We have lots of razor clams on area beaches this year, and we're releasing a tentative schedule to give people plenty of time to make plans to get out and enjoy them,” said Dan Ayres, Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife (WDFW) coastal shellfish manager.     Final approval of all scheduled openings will depend on whether results of marine toxin tests show the clams are safe to eat.    WDFW typically announces whether a dig will go forward about a week before the opening, said Ayres.

The tentative razor clam digs, along with low tides and beaches, are listed below.
Digging is not allowed before noon for the March and early April digs where low tide occurs in the evening.

  • March 6, Friday, 4:11 pm, -0.2 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks
  • March 7, Saturday, 4:59 pm, -0.7 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis
  • March 8, Sunday, 6:43 pm, -1.0 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks
  • March 9, Monday, 7:25 pm, -1.0 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis
  • March 10, Tuesday, 8:06 pm, -0.8 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks
  • March 11, Wednesday, 8:46 pm, -0.2 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis
  • March 20, Friday 5:27 pm, 0.4 feet;  Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks
  • March 21, Saturday, 6:07 pm, 0.4 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis (Ocean Shores Razor Clam Festival)
  • March 22, Sunday, 6:41 pm, 0.4 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks
  • March 23, Monday, 7:12 pm, 0.5 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis
                           
  • April 3, Friday, 3:41 pm, 0.3 feet;  Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis
  • April 4, Saturday, 4:37 pm, -0.1 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks
  • April 5, Sunday, 5:27 pm, -0.4 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis
  • April 6, Monday, 6:12 pm, 0.4 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks
  • April 7, Tuesday, 6:55 pm, -0.2 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis

No digging is allowed after noon for April digs -- listed below -- where low tide occurs in the morning.

  • April 8, Wednesday, 7:26 am, -0.7 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks
  • April 9, Thursday, 8:14 am, -1.1 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis
  • April 10, Friday, 9:01 am, -1.3 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks
  • April 11, Saturday, 9:50 am, -1.1 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis (Long Beach Razor Clam Festival)
  • April 12, Sunday, 10:42 am, -0.7 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks
  • April 13, Monday, 11:39 am, -0.2 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis
  • April 22, Wednesday, 7:08 am, 0.3 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis
  • April 23, Thursday, 7:41 am, 0.0 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks
  • April 24, Friday, 8:15 am, -0.3 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis
  • April 25, Saturday, 8:49 am, -0.1 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks
  • April 26, Sunday, 9:26 am, -0.3 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis
  • April 27, Monday, 10:07 am, -0.2 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks
  • April 28, Tuesday, 10:54 am, -0.1 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis
  • April 29, Wednesday, 11:48 am, 0.1 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks

In order to ensure conservation of clams for future generations, WDFW sets tentative razor clam seasons that are based on the results from an annual coast-wide razor clam stock assessment and by considering harvest to date. WDFW authorizes each dig independently after getting the results of marine toxin testing.  
Two razor clam digging weekends, in particular, should not be missed, said Ayres.  “The Ocean Shores Razor Clam and Seafood Festival on March 21 and 22, and the Long Beach Razor Clam Festival on April 11 are long-running events that celebrate the unique contribution of razor clams to Washington’s culture and coastal communities.”      
All diggers age 15 or older must have an applicable fishing license to harvest razor clams on any beach.     Licenses, ranging from a three-day razor clam license (starting at $9.70) to an annual combination fishing license, are available on WDFW's website at https://fishhunt.dfw.wa.gov and from some 600 license vendors around the state.

Copyright Ocean Park Area Chamber of Commerce, 1715 Bay Ave #1, PO Box 403, Ocean Park, WA 98640 360-665-4448
Privacy Policy

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software